Animals Are Their Own Pharmacists

CVS

When we watch animals foraging for food in nature, we now have to ask, are they visiting the grocery store or are they visiting the pharmacy? — Ecologist Mark Hunter

Animals “vaccinate” themselves and their offspring as well. House Sparrows and Finches: They add high-nicotine cigarette butts to their nests to reduce mite infestations.

Wood Ants: They use an antimicrobial resin from conifer trees in their nests, which protects their colony from the growth of microbes.

Monarch Butterflies: When infected with parasites, they lay their eggs on anti-parasitic milkweed in order to protect their offspring from infection.

red page dividerNow, have a little chuckle:

Dating AdsSINGLE BLACK FEMALE seeks male companionship, ethnicity unimportant. I’m a very good girl who LOVES to play. I love long walks in the woods, riding in your pickup truck, hunting, camping and fishing trips, cozy winter nights lying by the fire. Candlelight dinners will have me eating out of your hand. I’ll be at the front door when you get home from work, wearing only what nature gave me…. Call (404) 875-6420 and ask for Annie, I’ll be waiting…..
 
Over 150 men found themselves talking to the Atlanta Humane Society.

Source:  http://www.unknowncountry.com/whitleys-space#ixzz2xQZzbl4u

http://www.unknowncountry.com/whitleys-space

About Amirh

Ever-evolving spirit moving about via body. I'm a writer and a an ever-evolving spirit in service of animals through my blog and Buddhist and Reiki practices. My blogs: AllCreaturesLargeAndSmall.wordpress.com. and AmirhBahati.wordpress.com. For more about me: http://amirhbahati.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Animal Intelligence, Animal News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment